Associated Press http://ketr.org en One Dead, 28 Sickened By Carbon Monoxide At New York Mall http://ketr.org/post/restaurant-manager-dies-carbon-monoxide-new-york-mall A 55-year-old restaurant manager died and more than two dozen others were taken to hospitals Saturday after being overcome by carbon monoxide at a New York mall, police said.<p>Suffolk County police identified the man who died as Steven Nelson, a manager at the Legal Sea Foods restaurant at the Walt Whitman Shops in Huntington Station on Long Island.<p>Police said 28 others affected by carbon monoxide were taken to area hospitals.<p>Three officers were among those overcome by carbon monoxide at the mall, which is about 35 miles east of New York City, police said. Sun, 23 Feb 2014 06:15:00 +0000 Associated Press 49817 at http://ketr.org Taliban Suspends Talks On Prisoner Exchange http://ketr.org/post/taliban-suspends-talks-prisoner-exchange The Taliban has suspended talks over a possible exchange of Taliban and U.S. prisoners due to the "complexity" of the situation in Afghanistan, the militant group said on Sunday.<p>"Due to the political complexity of the current situation in the country, the leadership of the Islamic Emirate has decided to suspend the issue for some time," Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid said in an email to media organizations, using the name the Taliban gave their 1996-2001 government.<p>"Therefore, the prisoner exchange process has been delayed until further notice," Mujahid said. Sun, 23 Feb 2014 06:01:00 +0000 Associated Press 49816 at http://ketr.org Boeing Machinists Approve Contract To Secure 777X Work http://ketr.org/post/boeing-machinists-approve-contract-secure-777x-work The stakes were high and the vote was close as Boeing production workers agreed to concede some benefits in order to secure assembly of the new 777X airplane for the Puget Sound region.<p>Washington Gov. Sat, 04 Jan 2014 12:08:00 +0000 Associated Press 47750 at http://ketr.org Boeing Machinists Approve Contract To Secure 777X Work 'Fast & Furious' Star Dies In Car Crash http://ketr.org/post/fast-furious-star-dies-car-crash Paul Walker, the star of the "Fast & Furious" movie series, died Saturday in a car crash that killed one other person north of Los Angeles, his publicist said. He was 40.<p>Walker died Saturday afternoon, Ame Van Iden told the Associated Press.<p>A statement on the actor's Facebook page said he was a passenger in a friend's car, and that Walker was in the area to attend a charity event for his organization Reach Out Worldwide.<p>"We ... Sun, 01 Dec 2013 05:52:00 +0000 Associated Press 46350 at http://ketr.org 'Fast & Furious' Star Dies In Car Crash Three U.S. Economists Win Nobel Prize http://ketr.org/post/three-us-economists-win-nobel-prize Americans Eugene Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert Shiller won the Nobel prize for economics on Monday for developing new methods to study trends in asset markets.<p>The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said the three had laid the foundation of the current understanding of asset prices.<p>While it's hard to predict whether stock or bond prices will go up or down in the short term, it's possible to foresee movements over periods of three years or longer, the academy said.<p>"These findings, which might seem surprising and contradictory, were made and analyzed by this year's laureates," the ac Mon, 14 Oct 2013 11:29:00 +0000 Associated Press 44186 at http://ketr.org Cause determined in Wood County business fire http://ketr.org/post/cause-determined-wood-county-business-fire <p>MINEOLA - Investigators say a lawnmower and spilled fuel have been blamed for a fire that destroyed much of an East Texas petroleum company. Tue, 13 Mar 2012 13:27:26 +0000 Associated Press 17937 at http://ketr.org Cause determined in Wood County business fire With Playoff Expansion, Baseball Goes Wilder http://ketr.org/post/playoff-expansion-baseball-goes-wilder Major League Baseball expanded its playoff format to 10 teams Friday, adding a second wild-card in each league.<p>The decision establishes a new one-game, wild-card round in each league between the teams with the best records who are not division winners, meaning a third-place team could win the World Series.<p>This is the only change in baseball's playoff structure since the 1995 season, when wild-card teams were first added.<p>"This change increases the rewards of a division championship and allows two additional markets to experience playoff baseball each year," Commissioner Bud Seli Fri, 02 Mar 2012 21:21:00 +0000 Associated Press 17441 at http://ketr.org With Playoff Expansion, Baseball Goes Wilder Temporary Restraining Order Dissolved http://ketr.org/post/temporary-restraining-order-dissolved <p>PARIS, Texas (AP) - A Paris, Texas judge has dissolved a<br />temporary restraining order blocking TransCanada from crossing a<br />farm with a proposed Canadian crude oil pipeline to the Gulf coast.<span style="display: none">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sun, 26 Feb 2012 13:34:21 +0000 Associated Press 17133 at http://ketr.org Former Red River County teacher gets five years http://ketr.org/post/former-red-river-county-teacher-gets-five-years <p>CLARKSVILLE - A former middle school teacher in Clarksville has been sentenced to five years in prison after pleading guilty to charges involving sexual misconduct with a 13-year-old male student. Tue, 14 Feb 2012 15:05:48 +0000 Associated Press 16528 at http://ketr.org Thousands Attend Rally For Nativity Scene http://ketr.org/post/thousands-attend-rally-nativity-scene <p>ATHENS&nbsp;- Thousands have rallied on an East Texas courthouse lawn in response to an effort to remove a nativity&nbsp;scene.</p><p>The Athens Daily Review estimated that about 5,000 people came&nbsp;to Saturday&#39;s rally, which a Baptist pastor told the crowd was prompted by &quot;the beginning of persecution of Christianity in our&nbsp;nation.&quot;</p> Sun, 18 Dec 2011 18:18:03 +0000 Associated Press 13630 at http://ketr.org