The Lead http://ketr.org en Finding Positives From the 2011 Texas Drought http://ketr.org/post/finding-positives-2011-texas-drought <p>Nearly a week removed from summer, and a large portion of the U.S. is still recovering from a drought-stricken season. But it’s a much better scene in Texas now than it was at this point a year ago. Fri, 28 Sep 2012 11:54:00 +0000 Scott Harvey 27593 at http://ketr.org Finding Positives From the 2011 Texas Drought Flood of Donations Gives Commerce Food Pantry New Life, But Fix is Only Temporary http://ketr.org/post/flood-donations-gives-commerce-food-pantry-new-life-fix-only-temporary <p>COMMERCE - The Commerce Food Pantry had been running dangerously low on supplies. So the last few Sundays before worship volunteer Dennis White has stood before his fellow church members to remind them of the growing need to restock the shelves.&nbsp; Wed, 26 Sep 2012 12:13:00 +0000 Scott Harvey 27485 at http://ketr.org Flood of Donations Gives Commerce Food Pantry New Life, But Fix is Only Temporary Calling on Uninsured Texans: Free Clinic to Assist Thousands http://ketr.org/post/calling-uninsured-texans-free-clinic-assist-thousands <p>DALLAS - Texas has the highest rate of uninsured people in the country with about 26 percent of residents in general and 22 percent of children lacking health insurance. As it turns out, many of the uninsured aren’t aware of the free and affordable services available to them. Fri, 14 Sep 2012 15:23:00 +0000 Scott Harvey 26982 at http://ketr.org Calling on Uninsured Texans: Free Clinic to Assist Thousands DrugFree Greenville says Goodbye to Kroncke, Celebrates 25 Years http://ketr.org/post/drugfree-greenville-says-goodbye-kroncke-celebrates-25-years <p>GREENVILLE - For more than two decades, <a href="http://www.drugfreegreenville.org/index.html" target="_blank">DrugFree Greenville</a> has served on the front lines in the battle against substance abuse through continuous prevention and awareness campaigns, and a great deal of community support. Thu, 30 Aug 2012 10:35:29 +0000 Scott Harvey 26288 at http://ketr.org DrugFree Greenville says Goodbye to Kroncke, Celebrates 25 Years "Railroad Bill" Ogden to Host Final Bluegrass Special http://ketr.org/post/railroad-bill-ogden-host-final-bluegrass-special <p>COMMERCE - The month was November. The year was 1982… or ’83… and Dr. W.R. “Bill” Ogden had tuned into 88.9 FM KETR to listen to the Bluegrass Express with Dave Heath. Fri, 24 Aug 2012 15:31:09 +0000 Scott Harvey 26019 at http://ketr.org "Railroad Bill" Ogden to Host Final Bluegrass Special Spraying for Mosquitoes: A View From the Passenger's Seat http://ketr.org/post/spraying-mosquitoes-view-passengers-seat <p>COMMERCE - It's 91 degrees at 7 p.m. on a Wednesday and Daryl Martin is preparing to go for a drive. The same drive he’s taken every other week this time of year over the last decade. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 16:31:32 +0000 Scott Harvey 25689 at http://ketr.org Spraying for Mosquitoes: A View From the Passenger's Seat A Much Cooler Place: Alaska Trip http://ketr.org/post/much-cooler-place-alaska-trip <p>Picture this: You are paddling down a gently flowing river, a cool breeze, and birds chirping in the background. You look at the river banks on either side of you, and there&rsquo;s snow. You&rsquo;re traveling down a river in Alaska. Sat, 11 Aug 2012 17:23:36 +0000 Daniel Starks 25340 at http://ketr.org A Much Cooler Place: Alaska Trip A&M-Commerce Science Building to Bear McFarland's Name http://ketr.org/post/am-commerce-science-building-bear-mcfarlands-name <p>COMMERCE - For Dr. Keith McFarland, the 10<sup>th</sup> president at <a href="http://www.tamuc.edu" target="_blank">Texas A&amp;M University-Commerce</a>, the thought of having a building named after him never crossed his mind. Thu, 09 Aug 2012 10:36:08 +0000 Scott Harvey 25213 at http://ketr.org A&M-Commerce Science Building to Bear McFarland's Name West Nile Infections High, But Peak Season Not Over Yet http://ketr.org/post/west-nile-infections-high-peak-season-not-over-yet <p>A Texas health official says cases of West Nile virus this year could exceed 500, which would be a record for the state. Sun, 05 Aug 2012 22:07:12 +0000 Scott Harvey 25006 at http://ketr.org West Nile Infections High, But Peak Season Not Over Yet Sulphur Springs to Milwaukee - The Compassion Connection http://ketr.org/post/sulphur-springs-milwaukee-compassion-connection <p>MILWAUKEE-The state of <a href="http://www.wisconsin.gov/state/" target="_blank">Wisconsin</a> is famous for a lot of different things. It&rsquo;s home to storied sports teams like the Green Bay Packers, was the home for two popular sit-coms, <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070992/" target="_blank"><em>Happy Days </em></a>and <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0165598/" target="_blank"><em>That &#39;70s Show</em></a>, and is known for extremely cold winters and extremely warm people. But they are also famous for something else. Dairy.</p><p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 15:48:25 +0000 Cooper Welch 24583 at http://ketr.org Sulphur Springs to Milwaukee - The Compassion Connection