Jeff Lunden http://ketr.org en Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers http://ketr.org/post/labor-conflict-may-lock-out-met-opera-workers The clock is ticking for the Metropolitan Opera in New York. The world's largest opera company may be headed for a shutdown. Most of the union contracts for the Met expire in a week. Yesterday, Met General Manager Peter Gelb sent a letter to the unions, warning them to prepare for a lockout if they don't come to terms.<p>For months now, the company and its unions have been at an impasse. Management has proposed cutting 16 percent of union members' compensation. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 56808 at http://ketr.org Labor Conflict May Lock Out Met Opera Workers New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow http://ketr.org/post/new-york-philharmonics-lead-fiddler-rests-his-bow <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHU82TvSB_o</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:08:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 55400 at http://ketr.org New York Philharmonic's Lead Fiddler Rests His Bow While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung http://ketr.org/post/while-broadway-sings-its-praise-wigmaker-remains-unsung Every time you see a Broadway show, chances are a lot of the actors are wearing wigs.<p>Sunday night at the 68<sup>th</sup> Annual Tony Awards, Broadway's highest honors will be presented in a ceremony at Radio City Music Hall. Awards will go to actors, actresses, set and lighting designers, but <em>not</em> the people who make the wigs the stars wear, even though the wigs are an essential part of theater craft.<p>Essential, and yet often invisible, says Jason P. Sun, 08 Jun 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 54651 at http://ketr.org While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://ketr.org/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 53263 at http://ketr.org Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://ketr.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 48936 at http://ketr.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://ketr.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 47698 at http://ketr.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://ketr.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 47054 at http://ketr.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://ketr.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 43655 at http://ketr.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars http://ketr.org/post/american-masterpiece-and-menagerie-stars Pop-culture aficionadoes will know Zachary Quinto as Spock in the cinematic reboot of <em>Star Trek</em>, and Cherry Jones as President Taylor from television's <em>24</em>.<p>But both are accomplished stage actors as well. And tonight, they're opening on Broadway, in a revival of Tennessee Williams' classic play <em>The Glass Menagerie</em>.<p>When the audience enters the Booth Theater, they see a simple, but striking vision. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:44:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 43418 at http://ketr.org An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park http://ketr.org/post/loves-labours-tuned-and-playing-park A few years ago, after songwriter Michael Friedman and writer-director Alex Timbers had finished working on their cheeky historical musical <em>Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson</em>, they decided to look for a new project to work on. Friedman says they wanted the next show to have a completely different feel.<p>"So we started looking at Shakespeare," Friedman says. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 40447 at http://ketr.org 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park