Texas Scribes http://ketr.org en 'Go Down Looking': Closing reflections http://ketr.org/post/go-down-looking-closing-reflections <p>This week's program features an excerpt from “Go Down Looking,” a novel by Jim Ainsworth of Commerce. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 13:27:42 +0000 Mark Haslett 39907 at http://ketr.org 'Go Down Looking': Closing reflections 'Go Down Looking': Starting over at home http://ketr.org/post/go-down-looking-starting-over-home <p>This week's program features an excerpt from “Go Down Looking,” a novel by Jim Ainsworth of Commerce. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 13:18:35 +0000 Mark Haslett 39256 at http://ketr.org 'Go Down Looking': Starting over at home 'Go Down Looking': Leaving the Panhandle http://ketr.org/post/go-down-looking-leaving-panhandle <p>This week's program features an excerpt from “Go Down Looking,” a novel by Jim Ainsworth of Commerce. Fri, 21 Jun 2013 15:49:40 +0000 Mark Haslett 38964 at http://ketr.org 'Go Down Looking': Leaving the Panhandle 'Go Down Looking': Riding Eagle's Nest http://ketr.org/post/go-down-looking-riding-eagles-nest <p>This week's program features an excerpt from “Go Down Looking,” a novel by Jim Ainsworth of Commerce. Fri, 07 Jun 2013 13:18:10 +0000 Mark Haslett 38299 at http://ketr.org 'Go Down Looking': Riding Eagle's Nest Two short essays by Dr. John Hanners http://ketr.org/post/two-short-essays-dr-john-hanners <p>This week on Texas Scribes Dr. John Hanners, Professor Emeritus of Theatre at Texas A&amp;M University-Commerce, reads two short essays he penned for the <em>Texas Theatre Journal.&nbsp;</em>The first essay is 'Play It Again Sam; Tyler, Texas' Arthur Dooley Wilson.' The second is 'John Boles: Texas' Forgotten Actor'.</p><p> Fri, 31 May 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 38199 at http://ketr.org Two short essays by Dr. John Hanners A Woman of Independent Means http://ketr.org/post/woman-independent-means <p>This week on Texas Scribes Jan Hilton reads 'A Woman of Independent Means' by Elizabeth Forsythe Hailey. &nbsp;The book 'A Woman of Independent Means' tells the fictionalized story of the Walcott&nbsp;family of Honey Grove. Mrs. Hailey is a descendent of the Walcotts.</p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 38198 at http://ketr.org A Woman of Independent Means Three Dark Decks http://ketr.org/post/three-dark-decks <p>This week on Texas Scribes Dr. John Hanners reads from 'Three Dark Decks', by Eusibia Lutz. 'Three Dark Decks' blends fiction with her actual desperate flight from the advent of World War II in 1939.</p><p> Fri, 17 May 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 38195 at http://ketr.org Three Dark Decks Dan Blocker: DeKalb's All-American Actor http://ketr.org/post/dan-blocker-dekalbs-all-american-actor <p>This week on Texas Scribes Dr. John Hanners, Professor Emeritus of Theatre at Texas A&amp;M University-Commerce, reads an essay he wrote for the <em>Texas Theatre Journal</em>. It's called 'Dan Blocker: DeKalb's All-American Actor'.</p><p> Fri, 10 May 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 38194 at http://ketr.org Dan Blocker: DeKalb's All-American Actor The Homecoming of Samuel Lake http://ketr.org/post/homecoming-samuel-lake <p>This week on Texas Scribes Jenny Wingfield&nbsp;reads her book, 'The Homecoming of Samuel Lake'. She lives in Texas, and her screenplay credits include 'The Man in the Moon' and 'The Outsider'.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">'The Homecoming of Samuel Lake' is her first novel.</span></p><p> Fri, 03 May 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 38193 at http://ketr.org The Homecoming of Samuel Lake Eight poems by Tom Geddie http://ketr.org/post/eight-poems-tom-geddie <p>This week Sherri Gardner reads eight poems by Tom Geddie; a poet, music journalist, essayist, and creative writing teacher who lives and writes in Van Zandt County. Poems include 'The Door is a Jar', 'Once the Sun Goes Down', 'A Blood-Red Rose Stood out Boldy', &nbsp;and 'She Lived Her Life'.</p><p> Fri, 19 Apr 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 38184 at http://ketr.org Eight poems by Tom Geddie