Cooper Welch Morning Edition http://ketr.org en Two Months In Jail For A Doctor Who Abused His Power http://ketr.org/post/two-months-jail-doctor-who-abused-his-power <p>A doctor who retaliated against two nurses now faces two months in jail and five years of probation after pleading guilty to two felony charges. Dr. Rolando Arafiles Jr. pleaded guilty to retaliation and misuse of official information as a part of a plea agreement, which will also cause him to surrender his medical license. Arafiles caused the firing of nurses Anne Mitchell and Vickilyn Galle after they filed an anonymous complaint with the medical board in 2009. Both nurses were indicted and faced 10 years in prison. Mitchell was acquitted and charges were dropped against Galle.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 08 Nov 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 11571 at http://ketr.org Execution Postponed Due To New DNA Evidence http://ketr.org/post/execution-postponed-due-new-dna-evidence <p>The highest criminal court of Texas has postponed a convicted murderer&rsquo;s execution due to new DNA testing that could show he&rsquo;s innocent. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals on Monday put off the scheduled Wednesday execution of 49-year-old Henry Skinner because it is examining how changes in the state law on DNA testing requests affects cases like his. Skinner was convicted on the murders of his girlfriend and her two sons in their Pampa home on New Year&rsquo;s Eve 1993. Prosecutors are contesting the new tests, saying courts already ruled against Skinner. Tue, 08 Nov 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 11572 at http://ketr.org District Judge Recused http://ketr.org/post/district-judge-recused <p>A district judge has recused herself from a contempt hearing for two Houston prosecutors. State District Jude Susan Brown recused herself at a hearing on Monday dealing with allegations that the Harris County district attorney&rsquo;s office violated a court order by obtaining secret testimony from a grand jury investigation into the DA&rsquo;s office. Two assistant district attorneys and two court reporters had been summoned to Brown&rsquo;s court. They were asked to show why they shouldn&rsquo;t be held in contempt. Tue, 08 Nov 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 11576 at http://ketr.org District Judge Recused "Joe Pa" Ok, Two Others Resigned in Penn State Scandal http://ketr.org/post/joe-pa-ok-two-others-resigned-penn-state-scandal <p>Joe Paterno, college football&rsquo;s oldest, winningest and perhaps most revered coach, was enveloped in a growing furor over the alleged cover-up of a sex abuse scandal at Penn State University. Tue, 08 Nov 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 11578 at http://ketr.org "Joe Pa" Ok, Two Others Resigned in Penn State Scandal Ex-Democrat Guilty Of Theft http://ketr.org/post/ex-democrat-guilty-theft <p>A former Democratic Leader in South Texas has been convicted of embezzling about $200,000 in party funds. Tue, 08 Nov 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 11574 at http://ketr.org Ex-Democrat Guilty Of Theft Gun Instructor Keeps License http://ketr.org/post/gun-instructor-keeps-license <p>A Texas gun instructor who said he wouldn&rsquo;t teach Muslims how to handle a firearm won&rsquo;t lose his state license over the controversial radio spot. Tue, 08 Nov 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 11573 at http://ketr.org Gun Instructor Keeps License Plea Of Not Guilty From Three Men Accused of Prostitution http://ketr.org/post/plea-not-guilty-three-men-accused-prostitution <p>Three men have pleaded not guilty in federal court to charges of forcing women into prostitution in El Paso. Tue, 08 Nov 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Cooper Welch 11577 at http://ketr.org