Aguilar re-elected to Mayor's post

Sulphur Springs – Sulphur Springs Mayor Oscar Aguilar will retain his post for another term, after the city council Tuesday night canceled the May 9 election for the Mayor's seat/Place 3.

Aguilar was unopposed for the race. The two remaining races for Place 1 and 2 on the council are hotly contested, however, with eight individuals in all seeking appointment.

Place 1 has incumbent Gary Jordan facing Craig Johnson and Jordan Horne. For Place 2, it'll be incumbent Clay Walker, Claude Walter, Steve Carmedy, Bradley Edge and Allen Vaughn each vying for the position.

Early voting for the May 9 election runs from April 27 through May 5. If you're not registered to vote, you need to do so by the end of tomorrow through your local courthouse.