A&M-Commerce faculty take home 26 awards

College Station – The Texas A&M University System on Monday awarded $526,000 to outstanding faculty throughout the system for the spring 2010 presentation of the Teaching Excellence Awards.

161 faculty winners will receive checks from the voluntary, student-selected honors program, of from $2,500 to $10,000. A&M-Commerce had the second most recipients, behind A&M College Station, at 26. Five of the 26 individuals were in the top five percent.

All recipients represent the top 20 percent of those who participated in the program. Awards are based on rankings from evaluations created and administered by students, with weighting for factors such as class size.

To date, 593 faculty members in the A&M System have received $2 million in excellence awards funds since the program started in 2008.

Winners in the top 5 percent from A&M-Commerce include Carole Walker, Wade Fish, Harvetta Robertson, Jason Wicke, and Sang Suh.

Also earning honors are Karen Roggenkamp, Pamela Webster, Raghu Singh, Jennifer Sennette, Kent Montgomery, Sarah Mitchell, William Wadley, Jeffery Herdon, Kursty Ogunc, Tina Lancaster, Jennifer Schroeder, Leah Wickersham, Sanda Weeks, Casey Brown, Laverne Raine, Thomas Faulkenberry, Leslie Haas, Brent Donham, Kaiqi Xiong, Alan Francis, and Paige Russell.