A&M-Commerce students win five awards at Symposium

Canyon, TX – Texas A&M University-Commerce students recently won five individual awards at the 8th Annual Texas A&M University System Pathways Research Symposium at West Texas A&M University in Canyon, Texas. Overall, 60 A&M-Commerce students took part in the poster/oral presentations.

"Gaining five awards says a lot about the quality of our presentations because there were approximately 400 poster presentations in various categories," said Dr. Allan Headley, A&M-Commerce dean of graduate studies and research. "It serves to let our students know that they are doing quality research."

The symposium is designed to give students from across the A&M System universities the opportunity to present their research results and encourages them to continue their education through a doctoral degree. The program also gives students a chance to network with other professionals in their disciplines.

"A major benefit for our students attending the symposium is to see the research being carried out at our university, as well as the System universities," Headley said. "It also gives students the opportunity to network with faculty and students so they are better informed as they pursue their master's and doctoral degrees."

Overall, 500 people attended the symposium, where Headley served as a judge for poster presentations. Attendance has been increasing yearly and students from each university are being encouraged to experience future symposiums.

"I would definitely encourage all students involved in research to seek avenues, like the Pathways Symposium, to get the experience of sharing their research results with not only their peers, but with a much broader audience," Headley said. "Each experience is a tremendous asset and benefit to the students."

A&M-Commerce student winners in each category are listed below:

Mathematics - Overall:
Venkata Nagendra Raja Jadandhyam, 2nd Place, Master's Level.
Discipline Winner:
Venkata Nagendra Raja Jadandhyam, 1st Place.

Agriculture - Discipline Winner:
Kali Gates, 3rd Place, Master's Level

Computer Science - Discipline Winner:
Surendra Chakrader, 2nd Place, Master's Level

Physical Science - Discipline Winner:
Jeffrey Sun, 2nd Place, Undergraduate Level.