Early Voting Underway for July 31 Runoff

Jul 23, 2012

Through Friday, citizens can cast their vote early in a handful of statewide races and for some local candidates, depending on which county you live.

In Hunt County, all runoff races feature Republican candidates, with no Democratic challenger slated for November. Eric Evans will face Mike Pierce for precinct 1 commissioner. The tax assessor-collector post will go to either Randy Wineinger or John Clark. Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace incumbent Sandy Berger takes on Merrick Money. And David Hale and David Renshaw are battling for the Hunt County Republican county chair.

A runoff for precinct 3 commissioner in Fannin features Republicans Jerry Magness and Kenneth Karl, while Mike Godwin and Paul Foley are vying for the same position in Rains County.

The much publicized race between Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst and Ted Cruz will appear on every citizen's ballot, as the two chase the Republican nomination to replace U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison. Either Dewhurst or Cruz will face former state representative Paul Sadler and retired teacher Grady Yarbrough, who are competing for the Democratic nomination.