Former A&M-Commerce football<BR>standout inducted into Hall of Honor

Commerce – Former Texas A&M University-Commerce running back standout Arthur James was selected recently for induction into the Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor.

James along with Sarah Butler Carthel of West Texas A&M and John Randle of Texas A&M-Kingsville make up the 2008 class of inductees for the LSC Hall of Honor. The

LSC Hall of Honor recognizes outstanding individuals who have brought pride and honor to the conference through their contributions as an athlete or who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the betterment of the conference as a coach or administrator.

A panel of athletic administrators throughout the league chose the inductees.

James played at East Texas State from 1966-69, rushing for 4,285 yards. At the present time that is fifth all-time in Lone Star Conference history.
During his career, he was a three-time single-season leader in rushing.

Among his many honors include being inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame in 1979, the 75th Anniversary All-LSC team, a two-time NAIA first team All-American in 1968 and 1969 after earning honorable mention honors in 1967, an AP second team All-American in 1969 and honorable mention selection in 1968.

James was also selected All-LSC three-consecutive years from 1967 to 1969, including a unanimous and most valuable back selection in 1969. Among his other honors are the Dallas Morning News Sophomore of the Year and Fort Worth Star-Telegram All-Texas Team in 1967 and 1968.

He was a first team Dallas Morning News, United Press International and Fort Worth Star-Telegram All-Texas honoree in 1968 and First Team United Press International again in 1969.

He currently holds 10 A&M-Commerce records including the single-season mark for all-purpose yards, three single-game records and six career marks.

During his career, he had two 1,000-yard seasons in 1968 and in 1969 and ran over 200-yards in a game on five occasions and currently has the top two single-game rushing efforts in school history. Also, his number 30 is still the only retired number in school history.

James joins Delmer Brown, Dr. Bill Crabtree, Ernest Hawkins, Dr. Jesse Hawthorne, Sam McCord, L. I. Smith, and Wade Wilson as members of the Hall of Honor from A&M-Commerce.

"This is the 12th class to be inducted into the LSC Hall of Honor, and for it to include three great athletes like this speaks volumes about the tradition in this conference and the quality of student-athletes that have competed in the Lone Star Conference over the years," said Stan Wagnon, LSC commissioner.

Each of the inductees will receive the LSC's signature Hall of Honor award, a 15-inch custom-sculpted eagle figurine mounted on a cherrywood base. The awards for Butler Carthel, James and Randle are to be presented this fall with ceremonies at each recipient's institution.