Gov. Perry issues fire hazard proclamation

– Texas Governor Rick Perry last night issued a state of disaster for 167 Texas counties, including all regional counties.

The announcement comes amidst an extreme fire hazard that poses a threat of imminent disaster in several counties. Counties include Hunt, Hopkins, Delta, Fannin, Lamar, Collin, Rains, Rockwall, Kaufman, Van Zandt and Dallas.

Under the proclamation, the Governor's office has the ability to activate all essential resources, and suspend pertinent rules and regulations that could impede the state's ability to quickly respond to the constantly changing threat. The proclamation also allows the state to request any necessary federal assistance.

Residents of these counties are encouraged to take the proper precautions necessary, such as avoiding burning outdoors.

While no area counties are currently under burn bans, Hunt County Emergency Management Coordinator Richard Hill said Thursday he was considering asking the commissioners court to implement the ban. That could be a comment trend over the next several days and weeks from elsewhere throughout the region.