Hunt County – A recent proclamation puts Hunt County, along with 150 other Texas Counties, under an extreme fire hazard.
Texas Governor Rick Perry issued the proclamation last week, despite the light precipitation that fell throughout Northeast Texas. Hunt County has been under a burn ban since December 8. As of Tuesday, 170 Texas Counties were under burn bans, according to the Texas Forestry Service. Area counties also under the ban are Delta, Fannin, Lamar and Rockwall.
The Greenville Herald Banner reports figures from the National Weather Service indicate 1.69 inches of precipitation was reported at Majors Field in Greenville for the month of January. The 30-year average for January is 2.51 inches.
The burn ban is in effect for 90 days from the time it was enacted on December 8 unless lifted by the Commissioners Court before then.
The ban makes it illegal to burn trash and brush, but does not include outdoor cooking or outdoor welding. Violation of the burn ban is a Class C misdemeanor.