Hunt, Rains, Bowie Counties named disaster areas

Hunt County – Severe drought has caused Hunt, Rains, and Bowie counties to be designated primary agricultural disaster areas. The designation allows for farmers and ranchers to be eligible for low interest emergency loans through the USDA and Farm Service Agency. All counties bordering Hunt, Rains, and Bowie are also eligible to emergency assistance to cover damage caused by drought conditions. Farmers and ranchers will have eight months from the time of the declaration to apply for Emergency Management loans.

Hunt County remains under an outdoor burning ban. Greenville and Shady Grove water supplies have issued mandatory water restrictions and Cash water supply has asked for voluntary cutbacks.