Local faculty member to serve on elite council

Paris – Paris ISD faculty member Beth Dennis has recently been named to the Texas Education Agency Commissioner's Educator Leadership Council (ELC) for 2009-2010.

Dennis is a Teacher of the Year finalist serving the Paris ISD's Justiss Elementary School.

She'll join 16 other educators across the state to periodically discuss how decisions made at the state level affect teachers in Texas' classrooms. The council also advises the commissioner on various subjects such as educator preparation, teacher recruitment and retention, mentoring, incentive play, campus working conditions, professional development and other critical issues.

Council members consist of Texas Teacher of the Year finalists, Milken National Educator Award winners, Principals of the Year, and Superintendent of the Year.

The educators meet with the commissioner two to four times throughout the year of service and act as a liaison between the TEA and Texas educators.