MLK Jr. awards ceremony Thursday in Commerce

Commerce – The Hunt County African American Leadership Conference and the Commerce Rotary Club Thursday present the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. awards ceremony for the City.

Dr. Hal Langford, Dean of the College of Business and Technology at Texas A&M University-Commerce will be the keynote speaker.

This year's recipients include Jack Gray, MLK Employee of the Year; Ann Ruth Champion, MLK Woman of the Year and Dr. Fred Tarpley, MLK Man of the Year. Below is a complete list of awards and recipients.

Thursday's awards ceremony is free and open to the public, and begins at 7 p.m. at the Mt. Moriah Baptist Church, located at 1205 Champion Lane, in Commerce.

Dr. Wendell Edwards Spiritual Award
Richard Hill Political Award
Dr. Hal Langford Education Award
Quay Throgmorton Spirit of Service Award
Live Oak Professional Medical Center Medical Award
Pastor Harold Pannell--Spirit of Fellowship Award
Billie Biggerstaff Choice of Excellence Award

Harry Turner--Spirit of Faithfulness Award
Benson Brothers Business Award
Clara Fields Spirit of Encouragement Award
Hayley Jobe King's Kids Award
Kerry Crews Law Enforcement Award
Billy Reed Social Change Award
Opal Pannell--Spirit of Commitment Award
Ivory Moore-- Legacy of King Award
Rachel Armstrong--Youth of the Year Award
Larry Dixon Pastor of the Year Award

Malcolm Thomas Music Award
First United Methodist Church Church of the Year Award
Claudia Record Community Steward Award
Joe and Kate Mangual Family of the Year
Elizabeth Hines Evangelism Award
Zurn Corporation Employer of the Year
Bill Relford MLK City Award
Jay Strickland MLK Media Award
Michael Pierce--MLK County Award
Tony Henry Spirit of Dedication Award
Tracy Lunceford and The Department of Public Works--Municipal Official Award

Hunt Regional Community Hospital at Commerce Humanitarian Award
A.C. Williams Elementary School---MLK School of the Year

Jack Gray---MLK Employee of the Year
Anne Ruth Champion---MLK Woman of the Year
Dr. Fred Tarpley---MLK Man of the Year
Texas A&M-Commerce Women Soccer Team---MLK People of the Year