Murray, Carrington to compete for Delta Co. bench

May 28, 2014

In a much-anticipated primary runoff election, 732 Delta County voters made their voices heard in the Republican candidate race for County Judge. Opponent Jason Murray received 421 total votes to incumbent Herb Brookshire’s 311, giving Murray the majority with 57 percent. He will face Democratic candidate Ted Carrington in the general election in the fall.

Credit Cooper Review

Lieutenant Governor republican Dan Patrick overpowered his opponent David Dewhurst to earn 54 percent of the County’s votes (364 to 309). Attorney General Ken Paxton overshadowed Dan Branch by 56 percent (364 to 281). 

Commissioner of Agriculture candidate Tommy Merritt took in 60 percent over Sid Miller (365 to 253). With 41 percent of the precincts Miller held the majority with 54 percent.

Railroad Commissioner republican Wayne Christian had 338 of the 586 votes running against Ryan Sitton in the County. While leading in Delta County, Christian was defeated by Sitton who took 58 percent.

On the Democratic side, United States Senator David Alameel earned the majority with 58 percent to Kesha Rogers’ 41 (18 to 13) to take that decision and Jim Hogan received 76 percent in the runoff for Commissioner of Agriculture against Richard “Kinky” Friedman’s eight votes (or 24 percent). The Texas Tribune reported Hogan as the majority winner over Friedman.