Primary election finals for Northeast Texas

– A number of incumbents earned another term or at least a chance at one in November following Tuesday's political party primary elections.

In Hunt County, Incumbent Republican Judge John Horn defeated Mike Warren with 69 percent of the vote. As there was no Democratic challenger, Horn will serve another term as County Judge. While Jennifer Lindenzweig picked up a victory in the Republican primary for County Clerk, she'll need to get by Democrat Charla Campbell Turner in November to win the seat. Lindenzweig defeated fellow Republican Jordan May 62 percent to 38 percent.

Three races in the county appear headed toward an April 13 runoff, as Republican candidates for three separate positions failed to earn a majority of the votes. For Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 2, Ralph Green (40%) will face Jay Atkins (32%) in a runoff. Wayne Money (34%) and Sheila Linden (22%) will go head-to-head in next month's runoff for Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Place 2. Another runoff will take place between Republicans David McNabb (33%) and Jim Johnson (21%) for the position of Justice of the Peace Precinct 4.

In Hopkins County, Republican Chris Brown defeated Brad Carr (72%-28%) and earns the right to face Democratic Incumbent Cletis Millsap in the County Judge's race. The Hopkins County Commissioner Precinct 2 Democratic party primary race will come down to a runoff next month between Mike Odell (48%) and Rudy J. Eillis (30%). The winner will face Republican Trey Hinton in November.

Unofficial final results from Delta County show Republican Jay Garrett won the County Attorney seat with 66 percent of the vote over Jo Nita Moody's 34 percent. For Justice of the Peace Precinct 5, Place 1 Chuck Reed was victorious over Monty G. Hobbs, Sr.; 69 to 31 percent.

Fannin County Republican Judge Eileen Cox was unable to retain her seat Tuesday, as she was defeated by a count of 68 percent of the votes to 32 percent by Spanky Carter. Joe Strong edged out a victory over fellow Republican David Cardile in the race for Fannin County Commissioner Precinct 4. Strong will now face Democrat Pat Hilliard in November.

Lamar County figures show Democratic Incumbent Court at Law Judge Deane A. Loughmiller has won a chance at retaining his seat. He beat Jess Nickerson earning 62 percent of the vote. Loughmiller will now face Republican Bill Harris.

Perhaps the closest race of the night came between Republicans Thomas Ratliff and Incumbent Don McLeroy as a member of the State Board of Education for District 9. Ratliff narrowly defeated McLeroy earning 50.37 of the vote compared to 49.62 percent.

With over 98 percent of precincts reporting, Republican Incumbent for U.S. State Representative Ralph M. Hall appeared headed toward a chance at another term. If victorious, Hall will face Democrat Valinda Hatchcox in the General Election.

Republican Robert R. Deuell earned 71 percent of the vote Tuesday in route to his victory over challenger for the State Senator District 2 position. Sharon Russell managed only 29 percent.

Another incumbent, State Representative for District 2 Dan Flynn held on to his seat, beating Richard Linkenauger 65 to 35 percent.

The final tally between Republicans Erwin Cain and Hollard Harper had Cain out in front 60 to 40 percent. He'll now face Democrat Mark Homer in November for the State Representative District 3 seat.