Runoff totals for Hunt & Delta Counties

Scott Harvey

Hunt, Delta County – Hunt County voters again turned out in large numbers for Tuesday's Primary Runoff election. Randy Meeks came away with the Republican nomination for Hunt County Sheriff, defeating Richard Hill with almost 54% of the vote. Meeks will go on to face Democrat Dewey Watson in November. The race accounted for a total of nearly 3,500 votes from Hunt County residents.

It was an even closer race for Chris Bracken and Mike Pierce, as each candidate was seeking the Republican nomination for Precinct 1 County Commissioner. Pierce narrowly defeating Bracken by only 18 votes. He'll now face Democrat Kenneth Thornton in November.

The other runoff took place in Delta County, where in the Democratic race for Sheriff Incumbent G.R. Wood was victorious over Joe Slaton, earning 65% of the vote. Wood will face Republican Gerald Teague in November.

Tuesday's figures:

Hunt County Sheriff (R):

Richard Hill = 1,614 votes (46.33%)
Randy Meeks = 1,877 votes (53.77%)

Hunt County Precinct 1 County Commissioner (R):

Chris Bracken = 485 votes (49.09%)
Mike Pierce = 503 votes (50.91%)

Delta County Sheriff (D):

G.R. Wood = 415 votes (65.53%)
Joe Slaton = 188 votes (34.47%)