Voter registration deadline Monday

Area residents who've yet to register to vote are encouraged to do so by Monday. That's the deadline to register for the November 4th General Election. In Hunt County, residents need to register by 5 p.m. at the Hunt County Voter Administration Office, located at 2217 Washington Street in Greenville.

The race for Texas House of Representatives District 2 is between Republican incumbent Dan Flynn of Van and Libertarian Michael A. French of Wills Point.

There is no incumbent in the race for Hunt County District Attorney, which is between Republican Noble Walker and Democrat Carol Day Gustin.

There is also not an incumbent in the contest for Hunt County Sheriff, which will be between Republican Randy Meeks and Democrat Dewey Watson.

The race to see who will be the first judge to sit in the new Hunt County Court-at-Law No. 2 is between the Democrat, former County Court-at-Law Judge Steve Shipp and the Republican, current Hunt County District Attorney F. Duncan Thomas.

Other contested races in the election include for Precinct 1 County Commissioner, between the Democrat incumbent, Kenneth Thornton and the Republican, Mike Pierce.

The race for Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 3 is between the Democrat, incumbent Phillip Martin and the Republican, Larry Middlebrooks.

There is a contest on the ballot for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Place 1, between the Democrat, incumbent Kenneth Peters and the Republican, Sandy Lane Berger.

Two Hunt County Constable positions will be decided during the election. The Precinct 3 race is between the Democrat, incumbent Don Morrison and the Republican, Roger D. Wolfe. The Precinct 4 race is between the Democrat, incumbent Cullen Smith and the Republican, Kent Layton.

Greenville voters will also have an opportunity in November to decide whether beer and wine sales will be permitted in local grocery stores, along with an end with the need for private clubs in order to drink alcohol in the city.

Early voting for the Nov. 4 election is scheduled from Oct. 20 to Oct. 31. Those wanting more information can contact the Hunt County Voter Administration office at 903-454-5467.