Mary Clark, Traveler

Tuesday Mornings at 7:20, during Morning Edition

Writing a travel column for the Paris News has brought together my life experiences and my life outlook. After 29 years of practicing law, I was ready for this change and it's been fun. I didn't want to manufacture the usual travel column with a few hotels, restaurants, and sites thrown in (although I'm told that's what most people want). What I wanted was to personalize cultures with stories. These encounters are not limited to foreign countries. The United States is richly diverse and reflective of the world and is a great source for the column. And, interestingly, I consider Paris, Texas itself a microcosm of the world and some stories will reflect that.

My essays are now being read on my new show and podcast, Mary Clark, Traveler, on 88.9 KETR, public radio for Northeast Texas.

Genre: 

Pages

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue November 1, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 23

The ten hidden gems of Mount Pleasant.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue October 25, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 22

Mary learns how to really cook dried chili peppers in Mexico.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue October 18, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 21

Mary is California dreamin' about redwoods.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue October 11, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 20

Mary gets a Rocky Mountain high.  Let's hope she returns.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue October 4, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 19

Mary heads back to Guatemala to celebrate their independence.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue September 27, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 18

Mary tells us how to save money on hotels.  RENT!

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue August 9, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 17

Mary travels the roads of Jordan.  Yes.  Jordan.  She gets around.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue August 2, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 16

Mary heads back to Oklahoma.  She only got as far as Hugo.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue July 26, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 15

Mary plants her Texas flag at the Oklahoma capital.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue May 31, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 14

Mary goes south of the border.  Down Mexico way.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue May 24, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 13

Mary travels to West Texas.  Not to be confused with West, Texas.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue May 17, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 12

Mary travels to the cradle of civilization.  Israel and Jordan look out!

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue March 22, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 11

Mary goes shopping Mediterranean style. 

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue March 15, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 10

Mary should have taken that left turn at Albuquerque.

Mary Clark, Traveler
12:00 am
Tue March 8, 2011

Mary Clark, Traveler Episode 09

Mary double dates in Cambodia and Viet Nam.

Pages