88.9 KETR http://ketr.org en Ebola Invades 'The New York Times' Sunday Crossword http://ketr.org/post/ebola-invades-new-york-times-sunday-crossword Last Sunday I literally was clueless about a<em> New York Times</em> crossword puzzle clue: "Menace named after an African river." The answer was five letters long. WHAT WERE THEY?!?!<p>I finally did figure out the answer from the crossing words: Ebola. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:31:00 +0000 Marc Silver 56237 at http://ketr.org Ebola Invades 'The New York Times' Sunday Crossword The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever http://ketr.org/post/most-astonishing-wave-tracking-experiment-ever I'm standing on a beach and I see, a few hundred yards out, a mound of water heading right at me. It's not a wave, not yet, but a swollen patch of ocean, like the top of a moving beach ball, what sailors call a "swell." As it gets closer, its bottom hits the rising shore below, forcing the water up, then over, sending it tumbling onto the beach, a tongue of foam coming right up to my toes — and that's when I look down, as the wave melts into the sand and I say,<p>"Hi, I'm from New York. But what about you? Where are you from?"<p>Yes, I'm asking a wave to tell me where it was born. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 56238 at http://ketr.org The Most Astonishing Wave-Tracking Experiment Ever Congress' Latest Death Match Involves A Bank You've Never Heard Of http://ketr.org/post/congress-latest-death-match-involves-bank-youve-never-heard It sits in an imposing building just across Lafayette Square from the White House. Yet the Export-Import Bank, which has been offering credit to foreign purchasers of U.S. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 09:19:00 +0000 Alan Greenblatt 56239 at http://ketr.org Congress' Latest Death Match Involves A Bank You've Never Heard Of Truckers Strike At LA Port, While Dock Worker Talks Continue http://ketr.org/post/truckers-strike-la-port-while-dock-worker-talks-continue Tensions are high between workers and the shipping industry at the ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach. NPR's Kelly McEvers speaks with reporter Kirk Siegler about the ongoing labor dispute at the largest port complex in the United States. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 editor 56236 at http://ketr.org Heading Home To Ohio, LeBron Returns To Cleveland Cavaliers http://ketr.org/post/heading-home-ohio-lebron-returns-cleveland-cavaliers Four years after famously leaving, NBA superstar LeBron James has decided to return to the team where he started his professional career. Many fans in Cleveland say they're excited to have him back. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 editor 56235 at http://ketr.org Tommy Ramone, Co-Founder Of The Ramones, Dies At 65 http://ketr.org/post/tommy-ramone-co-founder-ramones-dies-65 Tommy Ramone, born Tom Erdelyi, has died at age 65. The drummer was the last living member of the legendary punk band he helped create. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 56234 at http://ketr.org Looking For Free Sperm, Women May Turn To Online Forums http://ketr.org/post/looking-free-sperm-women-may-turn-online-forums Commercial sperm banks have operated in the U.S. since the early 1970s. Today, women who can afford to use them tend do so without stigma. But banks are no longer the only source for women hoping to get pregnant.<p>There are informal, unregulated websites popping up where men who are willing to donate their sperm for free can meet women who are hoping to have a baby.<p>The most established sperm donation website in the U.S., the Known Donor Registry, launched in 2010. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Rebecca Hersher 56233 at http://ketr.org Afghan Presidential Candidates Agree To Full Recount http://ketr.org/post/afghan-presidential-candidates-agree-full-recount Afghanistan's rival presidential candidates have agreed to a full recount of ballots cast last month, in a deal brokered by U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry that's aimed at resolving a potentially damaging political deadlock.<p>The 100 percent recount is set to begin within 24 hours, and a presidential inauguration, which had been scheduled for Aug. 2, will be postponed, Kerry told a joint news conference with the two candidates, Abdullah Abdullah and Ashraf Ghani, according to Reuters.<p>Kerry said it would be the "largest, most comprehensive audit" of the ballots possible. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 19:20:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 56232 at http://ketr.org Afghan Presidential Candidates Agree To Full Recount Tracy Morgan Sues Wal-Mart Over Truck-Limousine Crash http://ketr.org/post/tracy-morgan-sues-wal-mart-over-truck-limousine-crash Comedian Tracy Morgan, who was seriously hurt last month when <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/06/07/319717577/actor-tracy-morgan-injured-in-a-car-accident-in-new-jersey">his limousine was hit by a Wal-Mart truck</a> going 20 mph over the speed limit, is suing the retail giant for negligence.<p>The complaint, filed Thursday in U.S. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 17:43:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 56231 at http://ketr.org Tracy Morgan Sues Wal-Mart Over Truck-Limousine Crash CDC Closes Two Labs After Anthrax, Flu Scares http://ketr.org/post/cdc-closes-two-labs-after-anthrax-flu-scares Citing an anthrax scare and other safety concerns, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has temporarily shut down two of its laboratories.<p>The announcement on Friday follows incidents in the past month that involved the <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/06/20/324077444/cdc-says-more-workers-potentially-exposed-to-live-anthrax">possible exposure of dozens of lab workers to anthrax at facilities in Atlanta. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 56230 at http://ketr.org